Senin, 28 April 2008

Stage 3: Create Surfaces


Introduction

Production of seamless surfaces for roads, pavements, grassed areas and planting beds is probably the most important stage in the creation of a 3D landscape scene. Level of detail (number and spacing of vertices on surface boundary lines and landform mesh) is critical, hence the attention to detail starting in AutoCAD through manipulation of splines and vertices in MAX/VIZ. Get this process ingrained and surface creation will become a straightforward task

This stage involves creation of distinct surfaces that can be improved further by adding relief (to soft landscape areas) and materials

Download Sample Data

In order to follow this tutorial, you may want to use the supplied files. Please read the sample data instructions before downloading.

AutoCAD Drawing files: dwg_files.zip (784kb)
3ds Max Scene files: scene_files (7.8mb)

Top of page

3.1 Cut and Surface using Key 3D Surfaces routine

  • Carry on from the previous scene or open ACAD to 3D Stage 2c.max
  • In the User viewport unhide Landform
  • Change the display mode to Facets + Highlights. This displays the edges of surfaces within the landform better
  • Select the Landform and open Key 3D Surfaces
  • Press Selected to display the name Landform under 'Landform' on the interface. This is the landform mesh from which to cut and create a new surfaces
  • Check Hide if the boundary lines are difficult to view under the landform
  • In the viewport select the site boundary: B_Site. The name will then automatically appear under 'Surface Boundary'
  • Check Delete Boundaries. This deletes the boundary after the surface is created
  • Finally, press Cut and Surface. This cuts the landform and creates a new surface within the mesh called B_Site.01 Surface

  • Hide the landform mesh. This can be displayed later and can be used to add aerial imagery to put the site into context
  • Repeat this process, selecting the Surface_B_Site as the landform. Select all four pavement boundaries and press Cut and Surface. This automatically cuts and surfaces the pavement surfaces in turn
  • When completed, check that the surfaces are good and Attach the pavement surfaces together
  • Change the colour if required
  • Next, Cut and Surface the Road in the same way

NOTE: If faces are missing or extra faces exist where they should not be, then use sub-object editing such as welding vertices and deleting faces to correct these issues at this stage. Good attention to the previous stages of production should, however minimise any extra work here

Finally, create independant path surfaces thus:

  • Select Surface_B_Site
  • In Element sub-object mode select the inner paths and detach these faces. Name the detached surface mesh: Surface_Paths
  • Exit sub-object mode and change the colour of the paths to grey

Remove isolated vertices

After creating surfaces check that no isolated vertices exist on each surface. These are vertices that exist away from the main surface mesh and are a result of the cutting and surfacing process

  • Simply enter vertex sub object mode for each surface and on the Edit Geometry rollout press Remove Isolated Vertices. Remaining isolated vertices that are not removed (because they form an isolated edge) can be deleted manually

NOTE: If the Key 3D Update routine is used when isolated vertices exist, bounding boxes may still be away from the surfaces. This is an indication that isolated vertices exist

Top of page

3.2 Add relief to grassed areas

Alter level of detail on surface meshes

Before adding relief to an area enough faces need to exist on the mesh. Control of the number of faces and uniformity of faces on a mesh can be acheived using the Subdivide modifier and Key 3D Simplify Mesh

  • Carry on from the previous scene or open ACAD to 3D Stage 3b.max
  • Select one of the grass surfaces and notice it comprises long thin faces. This because the Terrain object simply 'joins the dots' on the boundary spline

NOTE: The addition of contour data (within the 3D spline areas) when producing the 3D spline model puts extra design detail where required and helps to reduce this 'embankment' effect

  • Apply a Subdivide modifier and reduce the Size amount carefully using the spinner until the face detail is increased dramatically

TIP: If the Size is reduced to 0 the computer will 'hang'. To correct this press Esc. To carry on, change the Update setting back to Automatic

  • Open Key 3D Surfaces dropdown menu > Key 3D Simplify Mesh
  • Keep the surface mesh selected and press Convert to Editable Mesh
  • Type 1 in the Weld Threshold spinner and Weld. All the vertices apart from vertices at the edge of the mesh are welded to a threshold of 1 (ie any vertices less than 1m apart are welded

Add Relief

  • Select the surface mesh and open Key 3D Relief
  • Under Edge select Round
  • Under Direction keep on default Over
  • Type 0.2 in the Amount spinner
  • Press Create Relief. This moves the mesh up 0.2m, but leaves the edges where they were

  • Notice that on some sections the mesh vertices which are near to the edge have been moved up vertically creating an almost vertical pointed edge. Use Target Weld to move and auto-weld the offending 'points' back down to the edge vertices

  • Use Key 3D Relief again, but this time choose Flat and Over with Amount 0.1. This raises the mesh up again, but gives flat relief to represent a cut grass edge
  • Weld and Target Weld any stray vertices

  • Finally select vertices in the middle of the grass mesh ie away from the edge and weld vertices to a threhold of 4

  • Repeat this process on the remaining grass areas to produce optimised meshes with rounded relief and flat relief edges simulating grassed areas

Top of page

3.3 Create Play surfaces

  • Subdive and simplify the larger play surface

  • Cut and Surface the play area using the remaining play surface boundaries. Using Key 3D Surfaces select all the boundaries at once before using Cut and Surface

  • Finally, change the display colours of the play surfaces and group all play surfaces together
  • Select Surface_ B_Grass01 and Attach all the remaining grass surfaces to create one object. The scene should now contain the following objects (plus the context surface which is hidden):

Stage 4: Create Kerbs

Introduction

In general an edge is created where one surface meets another. An edge could be a surface level edge, a kerb, a retaining wall, steps or terrace. Edges are often created using the Loft compound object instead of a simple extrusion to take advantage of the loft mapping parameters. The Loft mapping parameters enable kerb or brick materials to follow the curves of an edge as they do in the real world

In this example a kerb is created using Key 3D Edge Path and Key 3D Edge Section

Download Sample Data

In order to follow this tutorial, you may want to use the supplied files. Please read the sample data instructions before downloading.

AutoCAD Drawing files: dwg_files.zip (784kb)
3ds Max Scene files: scene_files (7.8mb)

Top of page

4.1 Create a path for the kerb

  • Carry on from the previous scene or open ACAD to 3D Stage 3b.max
  • Select Surface_ B_Road and Isolate Selection
  • Open Key 3D Edge Section and press Create Edge

  • When the Create Edge dialog pops up select (as always) Linear and type Kerb Path in the Curve Name text box

Select Surface_B_Road again and move the surface down on the Z axis -0.15

Top of page

4.2 Create a kerb loft

  • Open Key 3D Edge Section dialog
  • Press Browse and select Section Kerb 01
  • Press Drop and in the Top viewport place the Section at the top left of the site

NOTE: Placing all sections for lofts or other shapes for bevel profiles etc at the top left of the site, away from the site geometry, is a good habit. Sections and profiles are then available in an easy to access place for re-use at any time

  • Make the display type Wireframe. This helps when optimising the loft path and shape steps
  • Select Kerb Path and open Key 3D Edging dropdown > Loft
  • On the Skin Parameters rollout change the Shape Steps to 0 and the Path Steps to 0

  • On the Creation Method rollout press Get Shape.

  • On the Skin Parameters rollout increase the Shape Steps and Path Steps to see if they alter the smoothness of the kerb. In this instance it does not, so leave the settings as they are at 0
  • Rename the loft Loft Kerb

TIP: Naming in this way ensures that any lofts are easily identified in the scene. When materials have been properly mapped to the kerb (later) it can then be renamed and converted to an editable mesh. This procedure ensures objects uses less system resources when creation, modification and material application has been completed

  • Right click over the loft and select Properties. The kerb loft should have about 7000 to 8000 faces. This is acceptable as the loft is the only loft in the scene and is a main feature.

TIP: Always approach the creation of lofts in this way ie keeping a tight hold over the number of faces. Measures to reduce the amount of faces should be taken before loft creation when determining the amount of vertices on the splines used to create the landfom terrain. However, the shape and path sub-objects of the loft can be accessed on the Modify Panel after creation and number of vertices reduced if required

NOTE: To change other parameters on the loft such as the orientation (the loft sometimes is inverted) or the position of the loft on the path Ref: Key Fundamentals / Working with Objects

Top

Stage 5: Create Houses, Roadlines and Fences

Introduction

These elements of the scene are classed as 'Objects'. Objects are items that sit on the landform terrain (lamp posts, bollards, houses etc) or conform to its surface (fences for example). They are usually positioned in AutoCAD using blocks (lamp posts, bollards etc) or lines (closed polygons for house outlines, road lines or polylines for fence lines). This stage describes the process for creating houses (including roofs), fences and road lines

Download Sample Data

In order to follow this tutorial, you may want to use the supplied files. Please read the sample data instructions before downloading.

AutoCAD Drawing files: dwg_files.zip (784kb)
3ds Max Scene files: scene_files (7.8mb)

5.1 Create Houses

The polylines for houses and roadlines need to be imported so that they are created as separate entities. This is because the houses need to be placed at different heights on the surface (automatically using Key 3D Move Over) and the roadlines need to be configured individually using Key 3D Roadlines. To import these lines as individual entities the Legacy AutoCAD Import option is used

Firstly, just the layers required for import need turning On in AutoCAD

  • Open Project for 3D 03.dwg in AutoCAD and turn all layers Off apart from O_Roadline and O_Houses
  • Save the drawing as Houses and Roadlines.dwg
  • Close AutoCAD
  • Carry on from the previous scene or open ACAD to 3D Stage 4.max in MAX/VIZ
  • File > Import. Choose Files of Type: Legacy AutoCAD (*DWG) and select Houses and Roadlines.dwg
  • Check Merge objects with current scene when prompted and press Ok
  • On the Import AutoCAD DWG File dialog check just Skip off and frozen layers and make sure Weld is unchecked
  • Press Ok to import the houses and roadlines

The houses and roadlines will have rather large bounding boxes (sometimes an issue with data imported from AutoCAD). To minimise the bounding boxes of all objects do the following:

  • Open Key 3D Model Objects dropdown Menu > Update
  • Press Ok and notice that now when selected any object's bounding box fits the object tightly

  • In the User viewport select all the house splines using the Select by Name dialog and open Key 3D Straight to Surface
  • Keep options as default and press Move. The house splines will all move to the surface

  • Keep them selected and move them all down 1m using Move Transform Type-in and Offset:World. This makes up for any gaps between house and sloping land

NOTE: The house splines could have been moved to their correct heights and included in the spline model from which the terrain was created. This would give a correct 'platform' for each house. The house splines plus any level area boundaries (for paths and adjoining areas around a houses) can be included. Then, the house splines would sit on a level area. In this case they are being used for broad brush context modelling and so a more rudimentary method is being used

  • Keep the house splines selected and apply an Extrude modifier at an Amount of 7

  • Keep the houses selected and use Edit > Clone dialog to Copy clone them

The houses are copied and the copies are selected

  • Keeping the copies selected use the Rename dialog to rename the copies Roof01 to Roof29
  • Keep the roofs selected and move them all up 7m using Move Transform Type-in and Offset:World
  • Change the colour to grey

  • Again, keeping the roofs selected, in the Modify Panel remove the Extrude modifier from all the roof objects (press the dustbin icon below the modify stack window)
  • Apply a Bevel modifier to all the roofs with the following settings:

  • Select all houses and roofs and Convert to Editable Mesh
  • Finally create a Group from all Houses and Roofs called 'Houses'

Top of page

5.2 Create Roadlines

Roadlines are created using Key 3D Roadlines which produces 2D segmented roadlines. Roadline presets for length, width and spacing can be applied and offsets adjusted to butt up to other roadlines. The roadlines can be created as straight or curved 2D splines before using Key 3D Drape to drape the lines over the road surface. Finally the closed roadline segments are extruded slightly to produce 3D roadlines conforming to the surface

NOTE: Continuous roadlines (not applicable in this example) are created using spline sub-object editing - the Outline operation in spline sub-object mode

  • Carry on from the previous scene or open ACAD to 3D Stage 5a.max
  • Select all the Roadbaseline splines (25) and Surface_B_Road and Isolate Selection
  • In the Top viewport zoom to the junction shown below and select Road baseline16

  • Open Key 3D Roadlines The name of the spline appears under Name
  • Press Preset Browser and select Preset 1008

  • Press Apply to apply the roadline preset to the base roadline

  • Zoom to the junction and increase the Offset amount so that the roadline butts up to the junction lines

  • When satisfied that the roadline is in the correct position choose the Road Type: 'Curved' under Create Spline For Drape
  • Press Create to create a 2D roadline ready for draping. If the Road Type is curved or circular a progress message appears - this is because extra vertices are added on the roadline segments to give a curved segmented roadline

  • Delete the base roadline and repeat the routine for the junction lines. These use the Preset 1009
  • Once created, some segments may be removed in spline sub-object mode

NOTE: Roadlines must be created separately and cannot be attached together prior to applying a preset

  • Repeat this procedure for all remaining roadlines, creating 2D splines with 1008 (curved) and 1009 (straight) presets and making sure that all roadlines butt up to each other using the Offset spinner
  • Attach all the roadlines together to make one editable spline and rename Roadlines

  • Select B_Road Surface and open Key 3D Drape
  • Under Surface to Drape Over press Selected. B_Road Surface is then displayed
  • Select Roadlines editable spline and under Spline to Drape press Selected. Roadlines is then displayed
  • Keep the Match Surface settings on No - Use Current
  • Select Move so that the spline will move straight up to the surface automatically
  • Finally, press Straight to Surface to drape the roadline splines over the road surface

  • Apply an Extrude modifier at a height of 0.01. This will create 3D roadlines conforming to the road surface

Top of page

5.3 Create House Fences

The house fence lines can be imported using the more comprehensive AutoCAD DWG/DXF Import Options dialog. This will import the lines as one object (ie not separate lines). This is what is required here as the lines will be draped over the surface in one operation using Key 3D Drape

  • Carry on from the previous scene or open ACAD to 3D Stage 5b.max
  • File > Import. Choose Files of Type: AutoCAD Drawing (*DWG,*DXF) and select Project for 3D 03.dwg
  • On the AutoCAD DWG/DXF Import Options dialog Layers Tab check O_Fences
  • On the Geometry Tab check Weld and keep all other checkboxes unchecked
  • Press Ok and notice that one object (ie not separate splines) has been imported called 'Layer:O_Fence'.
  • Rename the fence lines to 'O_Fence'

  • Select Surface_B_Site and open Key 3D Drape
  • Under Surface to Drape Over press Selected. Surface_B_Site is then displayed
  • Select O_Fence editable spline and under Spline to Drape press Selected. O_Fence is then displayed
  • Keep the Match Surface settings on No - Use Current
  • Select Move so that the editable spline will move straight up to the surface automatically
  • Press Straight to Surface to drape the fence splines over the site surface
  • Finally, apply an Extrude modifier to a height of 1.5

  • Check how many faces exist in the scene using File > Summary Info dialog

TIP: Select and right click over any object and select Properties to display information about objects including the face count and name of material assigned

Name:*

Email Address:*

Feedback: